Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




Running dry

2005-02-22 - 12:18 p.m.

Okay. I'm a little pissed. No -- a LOT pissed.

So the place at which I applied was sponsoring students to go to the local community college for a training class for CNAs. I haven't been a CNA or even remotely functioned as one for almost eight years. My license lapsed in March of 2000. So I return their call again this morning. Apparently, they do not sponsor people who have 'let their license lapse' as the woman so eloquently pointed out.

So I was a CNA. I loved it -- but I took a job in a facility that didn't require the license. The pay was incredible, and there was room for advancement -- which later happened. I became a Facility Supervisor within a year, and was a very important position. I loved it.

But I loved alcohol more.

I never lost my job there. I needed to get help, and ended up moving to Pennsylvania with my sister (thanks, Jenn) while I recovered. I just never went back. I took a job there, then met Nelson via an Erasure newsgroup, and then relocated here.

I'm not knocking this area, but it is nothing like Binghamton, NY -- where you walk into a prospective employer's office, and walk out employed. (Why, of course I'm exaggerating!) But now I'm wishing I had never moved here to begin with. Nelson offered to relocate there when we fell in love, but I needed a change. Feh. I needed to think!

So, needless to say, they said that all I have to do is retest, and they'd be more than happy to grant me an interview. What they don't know it that my five years is up -- and retesting is impossible without retraining. I tried to retest by myself almost two years ago -- and I failed the exam. I had been out-of-practice for so long, and I had a massive anxiety attack during the testing process, causing me to fuck up every minute detail. That was $170.00 out of my pocket, folks.

So now, I am back to square one. I'm trying to do a little research as I type this to try to find loopholes in the system, but I'm running dry. I don't know what's going to happen next.

---

I'm on my way out the door now. Time to pick up the daily paper and see what I can find. I'm so tempted to take a shit job and relocate back to Binghamton. I really am. I hate this area -- now more than ever.

And yes, I probably typed that out of anger.

Jamie


4 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.