Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




I'm My Own Grandpa

2005-03-09 - 11:07 p.m.

Well, this space was reserved for a "Blogger 101" kind of entry. I'll post it another time. Some stuff I needed to clarify first, and now I just have to fine-tune the thing. I guess in summary, it's just me trying to leave my mark on the internet.

Yeah -- like I already haven't done that! ;-)

---

The afternoon went well. I tried to nap earlier, but I decided to stay up and reserve my sleep for this evening. Tomorrow is my first day at the new job, and I wanna feel rested and relaxed. The only way to do that is with a good night's sleep. I think it'll happen. :-)

---

Dinner was good. We had broiled salmon steaks with lemon butter and herbs, green beans with baby bella mushrooms, and cheesy smashed potatoes. I was gonna make the leftover pasta, but since I'm working tomorrow night -- it might be a good idea to leave Nelson (who could not cook WATER) something to nosh on before he goes in to work. All this even after he left with the last of the headache medicine last night.

I must love him. :-)

---

I want to thank every one of you who left me nice comments today. It made the good news seem even better in a way. Just knowing my readers care about my future and have stuck with me through all of my mood swings etc., does my heart good. It's nice to know that friends do indeed come from the most unexpected places. My heart belongs to each and every one of you. Blessed be!

---

So I watched a movie with dinner tonight. A Tom Arnold flick called, "The Stupids", which I recorded on Starz! earlier today.

I hate to admit it, but I enjoyed the little flick more than I care to say. It was one of those stupid/funny flicks that just has enough laughs to keep you entertained to the end. The highlight of the film was an unexpected guest: The Late Bob Keeshan, who you might remember as TV's Captain Kangaroo. Very cool!

It also featured a song sung by Mr. Arnold entitled, "I'm My Own Grandpa", which my Grandmother taught me when I was just a child.

So, I thought to myself -- why not post the lyrics here???

"I'm My Own Grandpa"

Now many many years ago
When I was twenty-three
I was married to a widow
Who was pretty as can be

This widow had a grown-up daughter
Who had hair of red
My father fell in love with her
And soon they two were wed

This made my dad my son-in-law
Which changed my very life
For although she was my daughter
She was my father's wife

To complicate the matter
Even though it brought me joy
I soon became the father of
A bouncing baby boy

This little baby then became
A brother-in-law to dad
And so, became my uncle
Even though it makes me sad

For if he was uncle
Then that also made him brother
Of my widow's grown-up daughter
Who, of course was my stepmother

I'm my own grandpa
I'm my own grandpa
It's a-funny I know
But it really is so
I'm my own grandpa!

---

Whomever thought that up was high on something, lemme tell ya. Great twist tho, huh? :-)

Have a great night everyone! (And yes, I typed that whole damn thing out. Must... rest... hands...)

:-D

Jamie


4 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.