Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




First Day at the New Job

2005-03-10 - 9:56 p.m.

I'm home from my first night at the new job. The verdict?

I FUCKING LOVED IT!

I was so shocked. I had just a tiny bit of anxiety about it, I must admit when I walked through the door. But the owner made me feel right at home, and as soon as I hung up my coat -- he started showing me the register. Let me tell you, folks... When you start out doing that sort of thing (I worked my first real job at a Dunkin' Donuts about 16 years ago) you think that you're going to forget tiny things like counting back change, and how to use the register. I had absolutely no problem picking up right where I left off.

The job is simple. It really is, and the stress is almost non-existent. When you are friendly, customers return the gesture. I've always been the kind of person who would just start a conversation with a complete stranger -- so it seems to work out well.

I was reassured that I did a splendid job by my trainer -- who is quite possibly one of the nicest people on the planet, and even got a meal delivered to me by the folks at the bar and grill next door. A 'congratulations and welcome' meal if you will -- A grilled steak quesadilla with sides of sour cream and their homemade salsa. It was amazing. We are allowed to help ourselves to drinks (non-alcoholic, of course) and just about anything from the deli section that we'd like -- but the quesadilla was exactly what my tummy needed. :-P Yum!

So anyway, now I'm home. I'm glad to be here, but it's not like I was in a hurry to leave. I really enjoyed the day, and I'm thankful to have such a terrific boss and job. :-) I have another four days to go and then two days off -- so I have plenty of time to perfect my skills there. I think by the work week's end, I will have made my mark. :-) One last thing: I also get paid weekly. WOOHOO!!!

Thanks to you all for being so sweet! The notes, comments and emails were awesome pick-me-ups while I waited -- and waited for this job to happen. You all rock my socks! (That was a little childish to say -- but hey.) ;-)

---

The rest of the day outside of work kinda seems like a blur. I remember waking up and showing, and I sorta remember making an entry -- but it was just foggy. You know? I suppose, perhaps, that there was a little more anxiety underneath the surface. I've been a little hesitant about staying in retail after my all-to-brief stint at Holllywood Video, since I thought I was doing great there as well. (Which apparently, I wasn't...) I know now, however that I am doing great work. This makes me a happy boy.

---

Nelson has the grot, and I got to witness his nausea firsthand. Eeeeew! He still managed to get himself out the door -- so he's apparently well enough to go in. Thank goodness. I needed the 'me time'. That might all change soon enough though. It looks as if my schedule might allow me to only see him here and there. Time will tell.

I smell like food. I worried about this most of all. I think it's time to take a shower.

Have a great night everyone!

<3,

Jamie

p.s. Do me a favor and steer clear of badbanners dot diaryland dot com! They make a mockery of people's COPYRIGHTED artwork (banners) by stealing them and reviewing them. A simple description of the banner would be fine, but they actually STEAL the banner and upload it to their server! A thief is a thief. If you are a victim of their theft -- let your voice be heard! What's the gravy on the potatoes? Just wait and see... Thank you.


8 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.