Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




Goodbye, Thom.

2005-05-10 - 12:10 a.m.

You know, I was reallllllly looking forward to my day off. Heh.

I woke up to a message from management asking if I could work for a few hours, and foolishly agreed. This completely messed up my plans for the day, and I have nobody to blame but myself.

Ah, well.

---

After work was through, I took a trip to the video store to return our DVDs. When we rented them last night, my friend Dominick gave me a raincheck for "National Treasure", which I wasn't really that interested in. So tonight, I redeemed it.

The film was fantastic! Almost like a hybrid of "Indiana Jones" and "The Goonies". Check it out if you can.

While at the video store, I visited with Dominick for about half an hour, and chatted with him about how being 'let go' from my position there upset me so much. It's not that I loved the job -- it was that I loved working with Dominick. When I was accused (erroneously, in my humble opinion) of forgetting to remove the security clips from the DVDs, it somehow made me feel 'stupid'. (for lack of a better word)

I'll most likely never know if it really happened, but after I left and started my second job this year -- it made me second-guess myself. A lot. In fact, it even happened when I first started my third job this year.

I'm sure that feeling this way is not their fault, but I refuse to believe it's all my own insecurity issues.

But it felt good to discuss this with Dominick, who understood me completely. It's a great gift to have friends who will just listen now and again -- and I hope to return the favor to him, someday.

The ex-boss in question is out on maternity leave as I type this. I hope her baby is happy and healthy and nothing like her mother. :-P

---

So, yeah. The three hours at work were okay. I mean, it was three hours. Not exactly hell. I was, however, glad to get out of there. There's nothing more annoying than six peppy teenagers asking for six vegetarian wraps.

---

Speaking of vegetarians -- Nelson and I are going lacto/ovo vegetarian for a week starting a week from this Friday. Lacto/ovo means we will still ingest eggs and milk -- but there will be no meat, no fish, nothing that has a pulse.

There's really no reasoning behind this. I was a land-vegetarian for six years ('land-vegetarian' -- my own coined phrase, meaning I ate no land animals), and I enjoyed it. I just thought this would be a great opportunity to try some new dishes. The reason we are waiting a week, is because -- well... it's expensive! (Trust me. You'd be surprised.)

It ought to be interesting, anyway. I'll let you know how it goes. :-)

---

And finally, so long to Thom, my good friend from DiaryLand. He got sick of waiting for a help reply from Andrew (after quite a few requests) and left DiaryLand for good.

Congrats, Andrew. You've lost one of your best customers.


0 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.