Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




Happy Nor'easter! :-P

2005-05-24 - 9:56 p.m.

Apparently, Brenda (see last entry) passed away from a heart attack. I guess she's had heart problems for about twenty-odd years, and she had problems with her blood pressure. Oddly enough, it was low blood pressure. Apparently, too low.

Frightening.

I suppose the reason that this freaked me out so much, is the fact that she was only forty-three years old. (I stand corrected with my last entry. I could have sworn she told me that she was forty...)

I'm not afraid of death. Not for me, anyway. I fear watching others die. People who are close to me. I somehow thought that because I was in health care for 15+ years, that I'd somehow become a little more 'immune' (for lack of a better word) to watching others around me pass away. I was terribly mistaken. It didn't prepare me. Not for this.

There were times when I would sit outside with Brenda on a break, and I'd be genuinely interested in what she was talking about. Other times, she'd bore me to tears with stories about her daughter and her escapades. But I guess deep down, there was a part of me that liked her -- otherwise I wouldn't have listened so intently. So I've been taking some moments here and there to try to mentally list the things I found interesting about her. I came up with a few, and somehow that's comforted me during this bizarre turn of events.

After reading her obituary in today's paper, I realized there was much more to her than I had ever suspected. She was a college graduate, a manager at a convenience store, and at one time, a bookkeeper for a large local business. She also left behind a forteen year-old daughter, which was particularly tough to fathom.

Anyway, I'm sorry Brenda. I really am. I suppose if I had gotten to know you better, there might have been a chance we could have been friends. I'm very picky when it comes to friends, and I suppose I could have overlooked some things, but I didn't. But one thing is for certain. I'll never forget you.

---

Well.

We're in the midst of a Nor'easter. Memorial Day weekend is going to be a bust. Today's temperatures didn't even break sixty degrees, and it rained. When I returned home, I tuned to the Weather Channel, and saw that the entire seven day forecast featured rain. I've never seen anything quite like this.

---

At work, a [kinda-sorta] friend of mine applied for a job a few days ago, I gave her good word-of-mouth, she got the job and she started training today.

After seeing her performance on her first day on the job, I promptly turned to my boss and communicated that if she didn't work out, I wanted it to be no reflection upon me.

I give her a month.

---

I'm off tomorow, and I have a ton of shit I have to do. I'm completely sick of spending my days off doing things. Why can't I just have a day to sleep and watch my "Golden Girls: Season Two" DVDs? Hmmm?

---

Oh, by the way. Check out my new button to the left, which leads to a Rachael Ray fansite. Rachael is a local from this area, and the host of "30 Minute Meals with Rachael Ray" on the food network.

I found it by Googling Rachael after one of her best friends walked into the market where I work. We talked for nearly twenty minutes about how much I adored Rachael, and she promised to let her know just how I felt about her.

She's right up there on my list, alongside Fran Drescher. I'd go absolutely NUTS if she walked into the store where I worked. NUTS, I TELL YA!!!

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!

Ummm. I'm okay. ;-)

---

Okay folks. Another exhausting day. Thanks for your kind comments in my last entry. It made a rather tough day a little easier to handle. I truly appreciate it.


2 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.