Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




Mum-in-law

2005-05-26 - 10:31 p.m.

You know, today sucked.

Up until this evening, that is.

Work started out well enough. It was quiet, so I kept myself as busy as possible to make the day go by quickly. It worked. It was 5 p.m. before I knew it, and I expected a small turnout for last minute coldcuts and salads for the holiday weekend...

Small turnout, my ass!

People came in by the truckload, it seemed. I thought I was going to pull out the last few remaining hairs from my head!

I lived.

After the crowd left, I tried to finish up my work, but for the first time since I started, I asked a co-worker to help me. I HAD to be out on time.

Nelson's sister had stopped in at about 6 p.m. to let me know that Nelson's mother was here from England, and she wanted me to try to get him to visit with her for a little while before he went to work.

I had to be out on time, so that I could come home, prepare dinner, get Nelson fed and out the door before he had to go to work. So, things were probably half-done when I left, and I'm expecting some sort of backlash tomorrow. I guess we'll see.

Anyway, it worked. I went with Nelson, because I haven't seen his mother in two years. And the last time she was here, I couldn't go with them on their outings because I had a nasty sinus infection.

It was a lovely visit. Nelson's mother looked terrific, and his sister, who is going through a nasty divorce, looked amazing as well. It's quite possibly the first time I felt like a part of the family.

This for me, was a big deal.

There is talk of a cookout on Monday. We'll see how my schedule coincides with that.

---

Speaking of schedules. I would have had mine today, but do you remember the friend I had come to work with us at the market? The one I recommended for the job? The one I said wouldn't last a month after seeing her in action on her first day?

Yep. Her.

She quit. After two days.

Can I pick 'em or can I pick 'em?

---

Tomorrow, I'm up early to get my check and pay some bills. Always a treat after a particularly rough week at work -- don't ya think?

---

Okay. Goodnight.


1 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.