Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




A buncha stuff...

2005-05-28 - 10:23 a.m.

After a casual conversation with my best friend Brin last evening, I had an epiphany:

I enjoy living here.

I've never been fond of this area. I've always pictured myself living in a large, busy city such as New York or Chicago. The closest I've ever come to that was living in Binghamton, NY -- which was okay, but nothing all that special.

I suppose my reasoning is simple. It's my job. Part of the problem was that I didn't know anyone. Now that I deal with customers constantly, I realize that the people around here are rather friendly, and I enjoy their company.

And it was Brin who helped point that out. Thank you, Brin.

---

There was one incident at work that pissed me off last night.

A woman called me on the phone to order a sub. Now mind you, I had a line of about four customers, so a telephone order was a nice thought.

This is the conversation that followed, semi-verbatim:

"Hello, Jamie. You might not remember me but I remember you. I was the one who ordered a turkey sub, but you gave me ham?"

"Ummm. No, I don't remember that. Can I take your order?"

"I'd like a ham and turkey sub. Lettuce, tomato, onions, and extra mayo. And I'd like the meat sliced THIN."

"Thin?"

"Thin."

"Okay."

"About how long will that be?"

"About twenty minutes." (Remember, I had a line...)

The first part about this that pissed me off, was that after the sub order was given to me, the woman kept talking and talking and talking and... You get the point.

"Ma'am -- I reaaaaaally need to go. I have a line of customers."

I went to work on her sub after the line vanished, tediously slicing the meat thinly and to perfection.

About twenty minutes pass, and she comes to pick up her sandwich. By then, another line of customers has formed.

"Did you slice the meat extra THICK, like I asked?

(in a firm tone) "Ma'am, do you think you're funny? I'm extremely busy here, and it's a holiday weekend."

"What? I'm being funny? I asked for thickly sliced meat."

No, ma'am. You did not!

(she rolls her eyes)

Luckily, my boss knows that this is a problem customer, and has given me permission, the next time the woman does this, to tell her to take her business elsewhere. And I so won't even hesitate to do so.

Fucking bitch!

---

Gorgeous day today. I woke up to Nelson telling me that he was going to Vermont. His mother is in town, of course, and they are off on a shopping excusion.

Hope they bring me a prezzie! ;-)

---

Next weekend, the Village of Broadalbin has it's annual town-wide yard sale. Just about everyone has something to sell, from baked goods, to bric-a-brac.

*wrings hands*

I love me some yard sales!

I'm such a fag. :-D

Have a great day, everyone!


0 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.