Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




Welcome Home, Miss Kitty!

2005-06-10 - 3:59 p.m.

Today's Friday Five looked like it would be fun to answer, having viewed my friend Brin's answers -- so I thought I'd give it a go.

The questions are in boldface, and the answers follow.

What things did you enjoy as a child that you no longer do?

Drink regular Pepsi or Coke, riding the kiddie rides at carnivals, and running. ;-)

What things did you enjoy as a child that you still do today?

Playing pranks, general tomfoolery, eating candy until my stomach hurts. :-)

What things do you do now, that the child you were never thought you'd like?

Working and making my own money, living independently from my parents, and split pea soup.

If you could go back to one age and stay there for a while, what would it be?

18. No reason, really. I just liked how it felt after I graduated from 13 years of hell.

If you could fast forward to an age (you do get to come back!) for a while, what would it be?

50, just so I could see if I was there. :-D

If you'd like to play Friday Five (v2.0), click here.

---

Oh yes! How could I forget Miss Kitty???

She was so good on the way home, that we decided to let her drive.

Oh man! Was that ever the trip from hell!!! I still don't know how she managed to talk the cop out of that ticket.

In all seriousness, here is the proud mother and child.

Isn't she precious??? We think so.

Here she is again, on the floor -- probably leaving her ass markings on that Netflix DVD.

She seems to have adjusted well. I went to Wal*Mart and bought her a black rhinestone collar. Very classy. Or tacky? I dunno. I'm not putting it on her until she's completely calm.

I also snagged her some catnip, and a new hummingbird feeder, which has nothing to do with Miss Kitty, really. Unless she finds a way to nail a hummingbird. That would be a bummer.

---

I was invited to go swimming today with a couple I met at Tammy's Memorial Day weekend party. (Christina is half of the couple, and living with Nelson's sister -- along with her other half) I graciously offered a raincheck, because I had things to do. I would have loved to go -- but it was just the wrong timing.

It's still extremely hot, so I would have loved to go. :-(


---

Spoke with my boss today re: my pay increase. She told me I could expect another one by the end of summer, which isn't that far off -- so all is well.

Guess I sounded a little impatient an entry ago. Although -- I know I am worth much, much more than what I am making.

---

Chinese again for dinner tonight. Too hot to cook. 94, last I checked. Tsssssssssizzle!

---

I had a very weak moment today, and I broke down into tears.

Nelson and I had gone to the local convenience store for gasoline, and a cold drink. While there, I thought I had recognized the woman behind the register. Her name was Anna. She was training, and was obviously new.

Me: "I know you, Anna." (She had a nametag on) "But I'm not sure from where."

Anna: "I drove Maria to the hospital to see you when you were there." (I was in detox) "Have you heard from her? Can you tell her to call me as soon as possible? I haven't heard from her in months."

Me: "Maria is gone. You won't be hearing from her, I assume. She has three warrants out for her arrest."

Anna: "What did she do?"

Me: "I have no idea. Is everything okay?"

Anna: (Starts to sob) "I really need her. She was my only friend, and I'm having a baby in October. The father skipped town, and I don't want to do this alone."

And I wept. Out of nowhere, puddles of tears had started forming in the corner of my eyes.

Me: "You know what, Anna? She wasn't your only friend, and I'm afraid she wasn't really a friend to anyone..."

So I grabbed my receipt, wrote down my number, and made it very clear that Maria was NOT her 'only' friend. She went out of her way to bring Maria to see me -- a complete stranger, who was in the hospital. She's now MY friend.

"Here's my number. If you need anything at all -- please call me."

It never ceases to amaze me how cold Maria has become. She's no longer the Maria I once knew and loved. Maria meant so very much to so many people, and she just left. With not so much as a 'goodbye'.

I don't feel obligated to do damage control; please don't misunderstand. I just want to do good things. I'm a caregiver by nature, and if I can help this woman in any way -- I'm going to do it. That is, with the exception of 'financially'. I can't do that anymore. Maria has scarred me in that department. I couldn't afford it anyway.

---

Okay. Long enough entry. I need a nap.

TTFN! And, WELCOME HOME, MISS KITTY!


5 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.