Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




How Nelson and I met.

2005-07-03 - 8:36 p.m.

Here you go:

Nelson and I met online sometime around June or July, 2002. I was living in Susquehanna, PA by myself, and had recently purchased a WebTV. (It is now called MSN TV, and it's basically a box that turns your television into a web browser)

We met on a usenet group, "alt.music.erasure" -- a group for fans of the British Electropop band (and my all-time favorite band) Erasure. We had a lot in common, and Nelson decided to meet me by driving 300 miles. Everything happened rather quickly, and before I knew it, in September of that year -- I found a job and relocated to Broadalbin, NY, and moved in with Nelson and his sister and brother-in-law. We stayed there until we found our own apartment.

Here is a photo I took of Nelson two Christmases ago:

We lived in the same apartment for two years, and just recently moved into our new apartment two months ago. (Incidently, it's right downstairs from our old place -- we wanted a change, but didn't want to go far)

Anyway. Nelson and I still have very much in common. He's not my actual 'type', per se (He's fully aware of my type -- older, heavier 'bear men'), but we have a good life. We have a cat, Miss Kitty. We share one car between the two of us. I love to cook, and he loves to eat. We like the same movies, the same music (for the most part). But yes, there are differences in our personalities. For instance, I like getting our of the house while he'd rather waste his days gaming.

We don't have a perfect relationship, by any means -- but we're both basically happy individuals. And most of all, we've been together for three years. I guess that says a lot.

So, there you have it. The story of how Nelson and I met.

---

Work was great today. Okay. Not great. But it was okay. I'm home, aren't I? :-)

My work didn't end with work. I had to drop off laundry at the laundromat. I'll be leaving in about ten minutes to drop it off, and then I'll come back and wake Nelson to head back over to fold, etc. After that dinner. Pork tenderloin with gravy, mashed potatoes, and asparagus. For dessert, chocolate-covered strawberries. :-)

We also have two films: "Seed of Chucky" (finally on DVD!) and "Harold and Maude" to watch. Believe it or not, I have not yet seen the latter of the two.

I know. I know.

---

I tried to play Cupid today at work, but failed miserably. That's my last attempt.

For some reason, I thought Stephen was uncomfortable around me, so I confronted him today. He apologized for the way he's been acting, and it seems once again -- things are back to normal between us.

Christina, the young woman who is living with Nelson's sister is single, and looking. So is Stephen. Stephen expressed interest in Christina a couple of weeks ago, so today, I intervened.

Due to the hearing loss in my left ear, I sometimes forget how loudly I speak -- and while trying to play 'Cupid', I spoke too loudly; and they both heard what I was up to.

Whoops.

Anyway, Nelson and I were invited over to Tammy's tomorrow after I get out of work -- so I owe Christina an apology.

I don't know why I feel the need to get involved in these scenarios. I think I just want to feel 'responsible' for something good.

Ah, well.

---

I guess that's it. I need to get the laundry situated. Have a great night, everyone!

And, if you don't hear from me before then, Happy Fourth of July!

And please -- don't drink and drive.


3 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.