Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




The difference

2005-07-20 - 6:23 p.m.

What to rant about today... Hmmmm...

I suppose this journal has taken a turn into dangerous territory. It no longer contains stories about my life, but my views of the world and people around me. Perhaps the title "Just so you know..." wasn't a fluke after all. Maybe this was what I was meant to do.

Bitch about everything that annoys me. Hell -- it's nothing like bitching about my own life. It's fucking BETTER!

;-)

---

Today's topic: Right vs. Wrong

Who am I to say what is right and what is wrong? Well, I'm nobody special. I just have opinions. Other people are entitled to theirs -- I understand and respect that. But if you put an opinion out there and someone disagrees, be prepared for backlash, differing opinions, and public humiliation. Especially if it's an uneducated, or a mean-spirited opinion.

Isn't it funny how we take sides? I mean, let's say you have a first, best friend (Person A). This friend tells you that so-and-so happened to someone he knows (Person B). Suddenly, you're all up in everyone's face making a public spectacle of "B" without knowing the entire story.

Now let's just say that you've never met Person "B". You're on the bus, riding to your destination for a latt�, and start a conversation with a complete stranger. Suddenly, you've made a new friend. You feel like you've known each other for years. It was fate that you met. You were destined to meet and connect.

While enjoying your latt� (and wonderful conversation), your new friend is sharing a story that bears an uncanny resemblance to one you've heard from Person A, and you listen intently. This person (Person C) has won your love, trust and respect. And now you've absorbed Person C's story (which included a mighty tale about Person D, who has now become another of your targets for public scrutiny.)

Yes, yes. You know where this is going. Person B = Person C, and Person D was your first, best friend (Person A).

I guess this story leads to a question. When is it right to become involved in a situation that doesn't involve you to begin with? I suppose when a good friend has been hurt by someone else's hearsay, gossip, hurtful words, or uninformed opinions qualifies as a good time. Yes?

Sadly, I'm not the best at making trustworthy and loyal friends. I have a history of befriending the wrong people. But I'd like to think after all of these years of making bad choices in the friendship department; that I could now, with everything I've learned -- spot the difference between Person A and C, or at least weed out the wrong choice.

Unfortunately, the above story is too far-fetched to even be believable. You'll most likely never get to hear both sides of the story. Fortunately, you have a choice. You can simply stay out of the equation, and mind your own damn business. I know I haven't at times, but it's something I'm striving for -- which is more than I can say for a lot of people.

Who am I to say what is right and what is wrong?

Just a casual observer who can spot the difference.


3 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.