Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




Dr. Bennett -- My .02

2005-08-27 - 2:06 a.m.

Okay. I've decided to put my .02 in, regarding the developments with Dr. Bennett and his infuriated patient.

Dr. Bennett was quoted as saying, "They're trying to define me as a disruptive physician because I told somebody the truth."

No. Something tells me it had to do with your delivery. Something's not right here. If you said it like you say you said it (are you following me here? anyone?), then your patient is overly sensitive and in need of therapy. But maybe -- just maybe, you might have thought of a nicer way to put it. I'm not talking candy-coating it, but you are paid well. A simple, "You might consider dropping a few pounds, Mrs. Smith, and I mean that with all due respect. With your permission, I'd like to help you find the diet that's right for you." (Insert friendly smile and a gentle, caring hand, here)

That way, everyone wins.

If he was rude, I don't think a little sensitivity training would hurt. But for this matter to be such a spectacle? Wow. Even I'm jumping in here with my $ .02!

There are three sides here (maybe more). People who are obese/overweight, who want to rush to the woman's defense and tell this physician to take a long walk off a short cliff. Then there are those who are blessed with thin, gorgeous bodies who think this woman is fat and she oughta STFU, and take her doctor's advice, however it was dealt. Finally, there are those who care for the woman's health, yet want every doctor to take a cue from Dr. Phil, and "tell it like it is."

Fine.

Medicine is a caring practice. Bedside manner is a big part of it. There shouldn't be an argument about that. If Dr. Bennett did, indeed, insult the woman's femininity, she should have made it known then instead of stewing about it and making this such a crusade.

Frankly, I can't take a side unless all of the facts are out there. Nobody was in the room when Dr. Bennett told the woman what he did. But since it's in the press, and the world seems to think it's a big deal, I'll bite.

Obesity is a huge problem in America. (Tell me you didn't know this and I'll slap you) I'm fat. I kinda like myself this way, and I've never had a doctor tell me that I've needed to lose weight. My blood pressure is pretty damn good, my cholesterol is low enough, and I get plenty of exercise. I've recently quit smoking, and like it or not, food tastes better to me now. I'm gonna add a few more lbs. to my body.

If a doctor were to examine me and say, "You have to lose weight, or you're gonna die", I'd probably do it. Why? Because he just scared the hell out of me. But would that be necessary?

No. I'm not one who needs that kind of wake-up call. A simple, "I'd like to put you on a diet and exercise regimen. Your weight is a factor in your declining health, and I'd like to see you get better, and provide the means necessary to make this happen."

I'd probably stay under the care of the doctor who seemed to care, longer -- which in turn, would motivate me to do whatever is necessary to enjoy a long, healthy life.

So, this brings into question what the woman was thinking when she selected this doctor...

Do you see where I'm going with this?

Absolutely nowhere. There is no middle ground. We don't know all of the facts, except the he said/she said. But it certainly wouldn't hurt our doctors to stop treating patients like unfeeling failures because they've gotten too fat. You are offering a service, for which you are paid quite generously. The least you can do is show some respect for your customers -- which is what they are, after all.

And ma'am. If you exaggerated this because you are extremely sensitive, you need to add some therapy to your agenda. Just find a caring doctor. I hear it's like picking a good melon -- which is, incidently, very healthy. ;-)


1 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.