Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




Golden Palace - Three Episodes Later

2005-08-03 - 11:13 p.m.

Anybody see "The Golden Palace" tonight on Lifetime? I didn't know that Rose's longtime boyfriend, ('Miles Webber') from "The Golden Girls", was written into this show. Nor was I aware that he's had an affair and was written OFF the show in the same episode.

I'm beginning to see why "The Golden Palace" didn't work. The show is hilarious. I laugh so hard my stomach hurts every time I watch. But at the end of TGG, there was finality. You had an idea of what happened after Dorothy left, and married Blanche's uncle. Now things have changed. Sophia had quick-witted replies, said inappropriate things because of her stroke, and had comical stories to share. On this show, she's sharp as a tack, and downright nasty to Blanche.

"Bed hopping SLUT!" she says at one point -- and she means it!

Rose has become mouthier than ever. Once in a blue moon on TGG, she'd develop a sharp tongue and become assertive. Now she's like that on every episode.

Rose: "I wish Dorothy were here."
Sophia: "Why? Because she's scary?"
Rose: "No. Because she could kick the CRAP out of Blanche!"

And Blanche? She only jokes about her slutty demeanor now. She hasn't had one date since the first episode (three have aired as of this writing), and her jokes are tame. Aside from all of this, she has changed the least, of all of the characters.

Now a word about the supporting cast.

Cheech Marin - An absolute delight. I have never been a fan of Mr. Marin, I've never seen one of his films, and I've never really cared for him on "Nash Bridges". (Well, to be fair, I hated that show, period) But for some reason, his tame character, Chuy (pronounced 'chewy' -- in one episode, Sophia refers to him as 'Munchy') is a breath of fresh air on the show. It works. I can't put my finger on exactly how -- but it does.

Don Cheadle - The man is a terrific actor. His role in "Boogie Nights" should have earned him an Oscar. But he's not funny. Not at all.

Billy L. Sullivan - From what I've read, this kid is only featured on episodes 1,2,3,4,5,6 and 14. (There are 26 episodes) He's annoying. I'm not trying to be harsh, but child actors that cannot act, can ruin a scene -- or worse, an entire production. Billy ruins nearly every scene that he's in. This may sound rude, but watch -- you'll see.

One of the most unexpected (and welcome) surprises so far was a surprise guest-starring role from Bobcat Goldthwait. Funny stuff. It's almost comical how some of my least favorite actors and comedians seem to provide some of the show's funniest moments.

Now a spoiler. If you don't want to see what happens in the final episode of "The Golden Palace", do not read between the asterisks.

***

Blanche reveals a secret relative in the final episode. An older brother, who is mentally retarded. Blanche tells Rose that she never revealed him before because she was ashamed of her brother. Rose tells Blanche that she is ashamed to call Blanche her friend.

Blanche went through this before, when her baby brother Clayton revealed that he was gay. If a family could get through that issue, is it not feasible to believe that she could have learned from the experience, and mentioned her mentally challenged brother before this? No. We're left to believe that Blanche was even more shallow than we previously gathered. And in the last episode of the doomed (ratings-wise) series.

My opinion on this episode? An awful way to cap off a series. If only there had been a final dream sequence, where Blanche wakes up, and the hotel was nothing but a dream... Never mind. We can imagine that (Or just not watch)

***

I loved how "The Golden Girls" ended. The 'ugly duckling' married a handsome prince, and the three remaining 'girls' finally got to say their 'goodbyes'. It was moving. So moving, in fact, that I still cry every time I see that episode.

I suppose I've given many reasons to NOT watch the show. But the reason I DO, is this: Betty White, Rue McClanahan, and Estelle Getty. I suppose that's reason enough. Well, for me, anyway.


1 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.