Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




Get well soon, Kylie!

2005-05-18 - 11:56 a.m.

Kylie Minogue Diagnosed With Breast Cancer

05/17/2005 2:23 AM, AP


Australian pop star Kylie Minogue has been diagnosed with breast cancer and will undergo immediate treatment, her management team said.

Her tour of Australia was postponed following the announcement.

A statement from Minogue's management said the 36-year-old's diagnosis was confirmed this week during a visit to the southern Australian city of Melbourne.

"Whilst at home in Melbourne with her family this week prior to her Australian Showgirl Tour, Kylie was diagnosed with early breast cancer," the statement said.

In the statement, Minogue said: "I was so looking forward to bringing the Showgirl tour to Australian audiences, and am sorry to have to disappoint my fans. Nevertheless, hopefully all will work out fine and I'll be back with you all again soon."

The Showgirl Tour was to have included performances in Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth over the next month.

I adore Kylie, and have been a fan since I was about 16 years old. Get well soon, Kylie!


---

In the "Who-the-fuck-cares" department, here are some excerpts from a thread that I stumbled on while doing a routine search on Google (which, of course, had absolutely nothing to do with NASCAR):

NASCAR is NOT a sport! It's a pastime!

No, it's a boring, pointless, waste of time.

And why, exactly, wouldn't it be a sport?

"Auto racing, bull fighting and mountain climbing are the only real sports, all others are games." - Ernest Hemingway

Nascar is a sport. Let me see you drive 180 mph with 43 cars without running into them.

So when my Dad drives to work in the morning, it isn't a sport, but because some f--king redneck does it fast, it is?

I agree, Nascar is boring. Why would I want to watch people driving in a circle for 5 hours?

That last poster won. I'm generally not one to mock other people's taste -- but what exactly is the allure? Someone enlighten me? Because, quite frankly, I'd rather eat lint out of an old sock than watch cars waste precious fuel and 'drive in a circle for 5 hours.'

Oh. And I walk to work unless I have shopping to do afterward. :-P

---

In the past two days, I've managed to pull a few doozies, as far as inserting my foot in my mouth. I wrote about one of them.

Here are the other two:

Last night at work, I walked up to an ex-employee of the store where I work who just happened to be sitting in the parking lot in her car while her husband grabbed groceries. (!) Lo -- it was a past employee who just happened to take my blood while I was in the hospital. She moved on after her stint at the store and became a phlebotomist.

"Hi! Oh my gosh! You were the one who took my blood! Well, everything turned out to be fine, but I have to say that everyone was wonderful to me -- including you, and my blood tests came back negative, and they were testing for Hepatitis, and it took two weeks to get my results, and it turned out I didn't have it and...

*And I just kept talking*

Oh, but the kicker? She was, in fact, an ex-employee of the store -- but she was not the one who took my blood. She was another ex-employee who made a career change -- becoming an assistant to the Town Clerk. Oops.

I was mortified. When I realized my mistake, I apologized up and down.

"Hey -- maybe it happened in another life", she said.

It'd help if you knew that the two women who I mistook for each other, are sisters, and quite easy to mix up.

:-)

And then today. I had the phone from our old apartment down here. (It gets turned off today) Thinking the battery had died, I just left it here. I fell asleep on the futon, and it rang. And rang. And rang. And rang...

So I answered.

"Is Nelson there?"

(thinking it was a creditor/bill collector) "There is no Nelson at this number...

...can I take a message?"

WHAT THE FUCK IS WRONG WITH ME???

It turned out it was Nelson's work -- a call that I would have taken anyway.

Anyway, the person on the other end was very gracious, and having realized my mistake, and who I was, just laughed it off after I had explained the situation.

Hey -- I just woke up!

---

So the latter mishap resulted in Nelson pulling a double-shift tonight. He goes in at two, and works straight through until 7 a.m. tomorrow morning -- with permission from his supervisor to sleep/nap during his night shift.

---

Lots to finish up today. I have shelves to hang, things to bring down from the old apartment, and quite a bit of cleaning to do.

Have a great day everyone!


1 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.