Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




My first shitty day

2005-05-19 - 8:41 p.m.

Today, for the first time at my new(ish) job, I almost wanted to walk out.

Almost.

I just had the overwhelming feeling that I was -- er -- overwhelmed?

One person called me and ordered five twelve-inch subs. (Grinders, submarines, sandwiches, hoagies -- whatever you call them in your neck of the woods) This was not an issue in itself, but I was alone in the deli. While I was starting those subs, two more people came in. One wanting three subs, and one wanting two.

That's ten subs.

And then -- the icing on the cake. Someone else wanted three subs.

Thirteen.

And then the decoration on the icing on the cake -- someone else wanting two.

Fifteen subs.

I yelled for help from my two co-workers. Neither one of them, mind you -- trained to work in the deli. Neither knows how to use a slicer.

I was out of sliced cheese for the subs, out of lettuce, and out of patience.

Apparently, some otherworldly force took control of my body, and the sandwiches got made and everyone was happy.

Except me.

I rushed to get my work done at the end of the night, and in the process, induced a killer headache and a near-panic attack. Now I'm home, and I'm trying to relax and wind down -- which is hard, considering that I'm not sure if my work at the end of my night was completely done or not.

Believe me -- nobody wants to question me tomorrow when I go to get my paycheck.

The rest of the day was just as shitty as can be. I could not, for the life of me, fall asleep last night. I finally fell asleep at five-thirty a.m., and even then my sleep was interrupted by the landlord who decided that 8 a.m. was a reasonable hour to start repairing/hammering/carpeting the floor in the upstairs apartment.

I've gone an entire month sleeping soundly without the aid of my usual Tylenol PMs, but tonight I am taking two, regardless.

I so hope he's done with the floor upstairs. He's a nice guy, but not the sharpest tool in the shed.

---

This week's DVDs from Netflix include: "Touch of Pink", "The Adventures of Pluto Nash" starring Eddie Murphy (shut up), and "Birth", starring my favorite actress, Nicole Kidman.

"Touch of Pink" came highly recommended by the folks at Netflix. Here's the premise:


Alim, a gay Canadian living in London, is channeling the debonair ghost of Cary Grant -- sort of. He's managed to juggle things so that, while living a carefree lifestyle with a fabulous new boyfriend, he's also been able to keep from "coming out" to his mother (a devout Muslim), who lives across the "Big Pond" in Toronto. But things are going to change, because mom's planning an impromptu visit. Uh-oh!

Uh-oh, indeed!

I don't think I understood a word of that, but okay. The Netflix bot 'decides' which films are worth recommending, based on your reviews of films you've seen.

My idea of rating a film is giving it *****, if I liked it, and *, if I didn't. But we'll see.

---

Okay. I think I'm done. Hope you all had a better day than I did.


1 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.