Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




Copyrights - Second survey (Please take)

2005-03-11 - 11:32 a.m.

From last evening's entry, and worth repeating:

Do me a favor and steer clear of badbanners dot diaryland dot com. They make a mockery of people's COPYRIGHTED banners by STEALING them, uploading the copyrighted work to THEIR server and reviewing them. A thief is a thief. I urge anyone who has had THEIR artwork STOLEN, to quickly contact Andrew ( Email: [email protected] ) and report it at once. He does not like banners that mock other diarists, and does not approve of theft within his site.

The reason I bring this up was not only to support my dear friend Brin. A similar thing happened to me, and after dropping a couple of friendly 'hints' -- nothing was done about it. (My 'revenge' for her was "all in fun", much like her jab at my banner...) She at least had the courtesy to keep the banner linked to my server, which allowed me to 'fix' the issue at hand.

Oh, and YOU are welcome for the hits.

A copyright (see below) is MUCH more than a 'C' with a circle around it. It actually means something. It's a little insurance policy which prevents people from stealing your artwork, words, etc. without legal ramification. The legal process may take a long time, but there are other ways to make life miserable for the thief.

---

Today is day 2 at the new job. Woohoo! I slept well, and am looking forward to it. :-)

---

It snowed last night. Imagine waking up at 10 a.m. and it looking like a fucking Christmas card in the middle of March.

I am not humored.

So I ask all of you a favor. I need a trillion extension cords and a blow dryer for each of those cords mailed to me right away. I'll commence to melting it as soon as they are delivered. Thanks.

---

Brin and I spent a good portion of last evening trying to come up with an ending to a joke. Keep an eye on her diary for some of our answers HERE. I trust none of you will copy them to your site... ;-)

---

And finally, another survey. Please answer the questions honestly, or don't bother. The reason I ask these questions is that I like to actually know my friends -- who I'm reading, and who is reading me. I don't like unanswered questions. Remember, I too was a victim of Fake Andy's crap for a time. If you have no idea what I'm talking about, I suggest you go read Brin's first entry, and keep-on-a-readin'...

Trust is important to me. I just want to make that clear. If you don't want others knowing your answers -- feel free to drop me an anonymous answers by clicking the "Contact Me" link at the upper left-hand side of my journal. You have my word it won't go any further than me eyes. And you can take that to the bank.

Love you all!

Jamie

P.S. This note was left to me by bethany9:

Oh the outrage! I love it. I had no idea you could copyright a banner! Please point me in the direction of that office. I am sure everything you have ever used, spoken about or posted was 100% right out of your noggin. This is the internet, for crying out loud. You put something out there, expect others to comment. I have some good banners I have found as well, too bad they are hugely outnumbered by horrible ones. Don't like it? Don't come back then.

I'm assuming this little leech on the back of humanity is the thief who stole Brin's banner and uploaded it to her site. Let's see how long she keeps it up there before Andrew takes her down. Shall we?

p.p.s. (a.k.a. Update # 2) Looks like the matter may have come to some resolve. Let's see how this turns out.

p.p.p.s. (a.k.a. Update # 3) All is well. Seems like a good kid. We all feel better now.


1 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.