Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry
























Ned. Home. New life.
-- 2005-12-12

Guest Entry -- Bindyree
-- 2005-12-03

WTF???
-- 2005-10-16

Morality question...
-- 2005-10-07

The creepiest thing...
-- 2005-10-04




Music Quiz!

2005-02-23 - 1:36 a.m.

Yet another survey swiped from my great friend * kiosh, who, in turn, swiped it from someone else, but I am too lazy to do the HTML. Just click his name, and read it for yourself. ;-)

The ultimate music survey

1. A song whose lyrics you thought you knew in the past, but about which you later learned you were incorrect.

Hmmm. This is easy. I always thought that I knew the lyrics to the theme song for "The Nanny". I thought it went:

She was working in a bridal shop with
flashy queens,
'til her boyfriend kicked her out
in one of those crushing scenes

It was "Flushing, Queens" (in NYC), not "flashy queens". Whoops! But it coulda fit, I tell ya!

2. Your least favourite song on one of your favourite albums of all time.

On Erasure's "Wild!" CD, there is a song called "Crown of Thorns". Yuck!

3. A song you like by someone you find physically unattractive or otherwise repellent.

Oh GOD! That's a tough one. Hmmm. The remake of Depeche Mode's "Personal Jesus" by Marilyn Manson. He makes me pee myself when I look at him.

4. Your favourite song with the name of a city in the title or text.

"You Surround Me" by Erasure.

I love you with all the joy of living,
'til the lights go down on New York City...

5. A song you've listened to repeatedly when you were depressed at some point in your life.

Oh crap. Do I have to say this? My first crush was on this guy named "Donnie". He blew me off, and I played Whitney Houston's "All the Man that I Need". Repeatedly. And I wept. A lot. For almost five hours. Straight.


6. Ever buy an entire album just for one song and wind up disliking everything but that song? Gimme that song.

Wow. I'd have to say that it was "I Love You, Always Forever", by Donna Lewis. I think the album was self-titled.

7. Your favourite song that has expletives in it that's not by Liz Phair.

*rummages through gospel music* Nope! Nothing here! ;-)

Actually, Nine Inch Nails has a doozy called "Fuck You Like an Animal". I love it. :-)

8. A song that sounds as if it's by someone British but isn't.

I always thought the Scissor Sisters were Brits. Nope. From good ol' NYC, baby! (And, ironically -- selling well in Britain and selling shit in the states.) "American tastes have gotten so boring", says Jake Spears, the band's lead singer. Truer words were never spoken.

9. A song you like (possibly from your past) that took you forever to finally locate a copy of.

"Mia Bocca" by Jill Jones. If I ever did drag again, THAT would be the song I'd perform.

10. A song that reminds you of spring but doesn't mention spring at all.

"Springy Springs", by the Springtones.

Kidding.

Ummm. "Close to You" by The Carpenters.

11. A song that sounds to you like being happy feels.

"Love Will Never Do (Without You)" by Janet Jackson. She even laughs in the recording. I love it!

12. Your favourite song from a non-soundtrack compilation album.

Well, that would be my favorite song of all time! "Dreamlike State". A b-side from Erasure!

13. A song from your past that would be considered politically incorrect now (and possibly was then).

"You're 16", by Ringo Starr.

You come on like a dream
Peaches and Cream
Lips like strawberry wine
You're sixteen
You're beautiful
and you're mine

Can you say FELONY???

14. A song sung by an overweight person.

I don't like labeling people, but since I'm trying to complete this survey and answer every question, I'll just say anything by Heart. And I think Ann Wilson is beautiful. Inside and out.

15. A song you actually like by an artist you otherwise hate.

"Silent Lucidity" by Queensryche.

16. A song by a band (whose members actually play instruments) that features three or more female members.

The Bangles. Best female band ever, IMHO. And they all played an instument.

17. One of the earliest songs that you can remember listening to.

"The Beat Goes On", by Sonny and Cher. I probably should have answered, "Lullaby" by My Mom.

18. A song you've been mocked by friends for liking.

Back in school, it was "Every Breath You Take" by The Police.

19. A really good cover version you think no one else has heard.

"I Am Woman" by The Waterlillies.

20. A song that has helped cheer you up (or empowered you somehow) after a break-up or otherwise difficult situation.

Heh. "I Will Survive" by Gloria Gaynor. Show me a gay man that doesn't answer this question with that answer, and I'll show you a straight man pretending to be gay. :-P

21. What was the last song you downloaded?

There is some remixing software that comes on the "Breathe" CD single by synthpop duo Erasure. I downloaded a few home-grown remixes of that song.

22.(a) An album you love that is flawless from start to finish (in other words no song skipping necessary)?

Only two come to mind:

Erasure - Chorus
Alice Deejay - Who Needs Guitars Anyway?

22.(b) The song that made you get the album in that first place?

"Chorus"
"Better Off Alone" (respectively)

23. Give me the song title which you think best describes who you actually are. Explain.

"New York City Boy" by Pet Shop Boys.

24. Now give me the song title which you think best describes your personality. Explain.

"Bad Girl" by Madonna. :-P

25. Quick � your favourite clever song lyric!

Oh this one is brilliant. The Pet Shop Boys single "So Hard" has an amazingly clever line:

I'm always hoping
You'll be faithful
But you're not, I suppose.

We've both given up smoking
'Cause it's fatal
So whose matches are those?

26. A romantic song that is NOT cheesy & your favourite lyric from that song.

"Breathe" by Erasure

Breathe
and I breathe
It's bitter without you
I can't live without you
And I'm in love with you
Breathe

The End.

That was fun! :)


1 comments so far. Click HERE to leave one!


All material on this page is copyright 2005 Jamie S. Lord

Ask if you'd like to borrow something, please. Thanks.